Can I use the same car seat for my second baby?
So, as long as you’re aware of, and address, safety issues and the seat is within the expiration range, you can feel comfortable using it for your new baby.
Is it OK to reuse car seats?
Note also that a used car seat may be less safe than a new one. A used car seat or booster is generally not recommended unless you can be absolutely sure it hasn’t been through an accident.
Make sure you have the right car seat for your baby’s weight and it is fitted properly (many shops will help with this). It is recommended that you do not buy or use a second-hand car seat as you cannot be certain of its history. It could have been involved in an accident and the damage may not be visible.
Is reselling car seats illegal?
Car seats are a major investment, so you may be hoping to resell yours after your kids outgrow it. Most parents know that using a secondhand car seat is frowned upon, and that may leave you wondering whether it is actually illegal. Selling a used car seat is not illegal in the United States.
Can you use a 10 year old car seat?
Children should use a booster seat until they have reached 4 feet 9 inches tall and are between 8 and 12 years old. Children should ride in the rear of a vehicle until they are 13 years old.
Is it OK to let newborn sleep in car seat?
“When your baby is seated, her heavy head can fall forward causing difficulty breathing…and even suffocation,” explains Dr. Harvey Karp. “That’s why car seats—outside of moving cars—are not safe for naps or overnight sleep for the first year of life.” The same risk comes from upright strollers and baby swings.
Why can babies only be in car seats for 2 hours?
Many car seat manufacturers recommend that a baby should not be in a car seat for longer than 2 hours, within a 24 hour time period. This is because when a baby is in a semi-upright position for a prolonged period of time it can result in: … A strain on the baby’s still-developing spine.
Can car seats be resold?
Unfortunately it is not illegal to buy or sell an expired car seat in the US, other than in CA (although in many states it is illegal to use them for a child to ride in). It’s common to come across them at yard sales, on buy/sell/trade groups or on craigslist.
Can you resell car seats in CA?
Rear-facing seats and front-facing seats are adapted to different stages of your child’s development. Make sure you buy a car seat appropriate for your child. … You cannot advertise, sell or give away car seats or booster seats unless they meet Transport Canada safety requirements.
Is selling car seats illegal in California?
Just like there are no laws regarding using an expired car seat, there are also no rules mentioned in California Car Seat Laws regarding buying or selling used car seats.